Skip to content
Assam Institute of NursingSilchar · Est. 2018

Academics

Two diplomas, two different careers

Both are INC and ANC recognised and both put students on a ward in the first year. The difference is scope, length and where you end up working.

At a glance

ANM
Not stated
annual intake · 2 Years
GNM
30
annual intake · 3 Years

Side by side

The comparison table

GNM and ANM compared by duration, published intake, clinical training and fee disclosure
ProgrammeDurationAnnual intakeClinical trainingFee
ANMAuxiliary Nurse & Midwifery2 YearsNot statedClinical practicum in PHC, hospital & community field postingsDisclosed at admission
GNMGeneral Nursing & Midwifery3 Years30Internship included · 12-week preliminary periodDisclosed at admission

The supplied programme material publishes fee components rather than rupee amounts. Exact figures are disclosed at admission; the official GNM fee PDF is available on the Admissions page.

Detailed GNM and ANM feature comparison
CriterionGNMANM
Full nameGeneral Nursing & MidwiferyAuxiliary Nurse & Midwifery
Duration3 Years, including internship2 Years
Annual intake30 seatsNot stated in supplied programme material
Qualification10+2 with English; Science preferred10+2 with English
Minimum marks40% aggregate40%
Age17–35 yearsMinimum 17; no upper age bar
Clinical trainingHospital internship; 12-week preliminary periodPHC, hospital & community field postings
Fee informationDisclosed at admission; official fee PDF availableDisclosed at admission
RecognitionINC approved; ANC recognizedINC approved
Career directionGeneral nursing & midwifery practicePrimary, community, maternal-child healthcare

Programmes

Choose a route

2-Year Diploma · INC Approved

Auxiliary Nurse & Midwifery

A 2-year diploma training students in primary healthcare, maternal-child health and community nursing, with clinical practicum across PHC, hospital and community settings.

  • 2-year diploma focused on primary healthcare and community nursing
  • Maternal-child health, midwifery and community-health preparation
  • Clinical practicum across PHC, hospital and community field postings
ANM in full
3-Year Diploma · INC Approved; ANC Recognized

General Nursing & Midwifery

A comprehensive 3-year diploma covering patient care, nursing science, midwifery and clinical training, including a 12-week preliminary period and hospital internship.

  • 30 annual seats
  • 3-year diploma including internship and a 12-week preliminary period
  • Clinical training at partner hospitals
GNM in full

Questions

Before you choose